top of page

November 2 - 12

Since taking that nice buck on the 1st I haven't been hitting

my best spots, I'm trying to keep the pressure off of it

for Rifle season which opens up this Saturday.

With a lot of hunting pressure around on the other farms

My small 17 acre Buck funnel will be a place they

feel safe once the guns start popping and the hunters get to walking

on the other side of the fencelines.

I try to keep my scent or human presence out for at least

a good week when I'm hunting a small bedding area.

You don't want to be jumping deer out of there a few days before

the Big Day gets here. Make them feel as tucked away and safe

as possible, with little intrusion as possible.


I've been hunting a few evenings but the place don't hold

a lot of deer, mostly just trying to observe and maybe take a

doe, but probably not going to get hot and heavy into any hunting

till this coming weekend.


I'm gonna sit all day in this funnel this weekend if I need to.

Once the show starts at daylight and the guys are out and about

on the other properties you never know when at maybe 12, 1, 2, in the

middle of the day, your buck comes walking through..

You sure don't want to be on the couch watching tv waiting

to come back into the woods at 3 that afternoon.

I've taken a lot of deer on opening day right in the middle of the day

when everyone else has left.


Hope this weekend is lucky.

I'm hunting after a BIG 8, he's a dandy.

Good luck to all who's out there hunting and be safe!



Matt

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

It's going to get Right soon

I haven't been hunting much in October, Actually in all these years of bowhunting I've hunted less this October than I ever have. The Weather has been to hot the last week and I sadly lost my best dee

October is here

Well as we turned the calendar to October it came in cold and frosty, it seemed like November 1st instead of October.. I Went out for the first time On the 2nd and hunted all 3 days of the cold front.

Time to Start Thinking about Whitetails

Finally, the Summer has ended and we are now in the start of Fall. That means one thing. WHITETAIL DEERS are on my mind. The season has been opened since the 15th here but I haven't been in the woods

bottom of page