top of page

Turkey Season is here

Well My first turkey hunt of the year is on it's way.

I've been down in Alabama hunting a few days.

It's been a tough hunt and looks like I'm going to be

eating a tag but that's turkey hunting.


Day 1 brought 2 Gobblers that were fired up

at daylight and gobbled pretty fair once they hit the ground

Set up a couple times and thought it was going to be

a quick hunt but seemed something happened to them.

Either something spooked them or a hen got between us.

Probably the latter.

Temps got Hot and it was in the mid 80's.

Just seem to shut everything else down for the day.

Hunted till dark but nothing much happened.


Day 2 was another Hot Day!

Temps got up in the 80's and

Heard only one turkey early.

He was across the creek which was to deep

to wade across. I tried to get fired up and call

him across since he was still on the roost but

once he hit the ground it was pretty much over.


Hunted the rest of the day but no action,

nothing was moving. It was just hot


Day 3

Only heard one Turkey at 4:30 pm

Gobbled a few times but that was it

Nothing was gobbling early or mid morning.

Seen a Hen but that was about it.


Temps are just to high and it seems to just

lock everything down at the moment.


Turkey season is here though and that's always

a good thing. I'm sure things will change as the weeks

come and go.


Travel is going to be a little difficult due to the virus

and all the places that are locking down and has a higher precentage

of cases.. Probably going to have to adjust my trips a little.

The two hunts I had booked for May has been hit hard up north.

So hopefully things get better or I find another place to go.


Pray for our nation and for all those that's been affected.

Remember however, there's no better place to

social distance yourself than Turkey Hunting, so

I'm not worrying about it, and I'm just using cation while on

the road this spring.


Lord bless you all and be safe .


Matt

59 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

It's going to get Right soon

I haven't been hunting much in October, Actually in all these years of bowhunting I've hunted less this October than I ever have. The Weather has been to hot the last week and I sadly lost my best dee

October is here

Well as we turned the calendar to October it came in cold and frosty, it seemed like November 1st instead of October.. I Went out for the first time On the 2nd and hunted all 3 days of the cold front.

Time to Start Thinking about Whitetails

Finally, the Summer has ended and we are now in the start of Fall. That means one thing. WHITETAIL DEERS are on my mind. The season has been opened since the 15th here but I haven't been in the woods

bottom of page